IPL auction 2020: KKR snap Morgan for 5.25 Cr, MI land Lynn at base price


Kolkata: The player auction for the 13th edition of IPL will be held in Kolkata on December 19 (Thursday).IPL 2019 auction saw a total of 346 players go under the hammer while IPL 2020 auction will see bidding for 338 cricketers. Kings XI Punjab have the most amount of money in their purse while Mumbai Indians have the lease but Royal Challengers Bangalore are the ones who have released the most number of players, so all eyes will be on them as to how they build their squad.

One should not also forget about MS Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders. While CSK will look to find back-ups for their experienced players, KKR are in search of solid top order batsmen. There are only 73 spots available and franchises have a chance to pick from a pool of 338 players, which means like every year, only the best of the lot will find an IPL team. But that doesn’t mean there won’t be any room for surprises.Every year IPL auction throws in a lot of unexpected bidding wars, mainly for uncapped Indian players and if things stand the way they are then chances are, this year won’t be any different as there are lot of young Indian talents waiting in the wings to make it big in the India Premier League.

Follow IPL 2020 auction live updates here:

Big bucks for Morgan

Eoin Morgan: Delhi Capitals makes opening bid at 1.5 Cr. Kolkata Knight Riders are rivalling them. The bidding war is won by KKR as they shell out 5.25 Cr for the England captain. Robin Uthappa goes to Rajasthan Royals for Rs 3 Crores.

First set auction begins

Chris Lynn: Mumbai Indians start the bidding for the Australian at base price of Rs 2 Crore. There were no takers for him and he goes for MI for his base price.

IPL chairman makes opening statement

IPL chief Brijesh Patel is marking the opening of IPL 2020 auction as me makes the opining statement. Bidding wars is set to grip Kolkata as the players are set to go under the hammer. Team owners have taken their respective seats and BCCI members are also present on the dias including president Sourav Ganguly. Hugh Edmeades is the auctioneer for this glittering event.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here