World cup final : Battle for glory

World cup

London: After beating Australia in semi final now England stormed into their first World Cup final since 1992 after dispatching Australia, setting up a showdown against New Zealand at Lord’s today.

One of them will get their hands to the World Cup trophy for the first time since the inception of the tournament in 1975 and the other will have to wait for 4 more years for their first World Cup title.

Hosts England were the pre-tournament hot favourites while New Zealand were also expected to make it to the last four as the performances from the two teams were right on the money.

England lost 3 matches in the group fixtures against Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Australia. New Zealand were phenomenal in the first half of the World Cup but lost the momentum in the latter half. They were tied on 11 points with Pakistan, but made it to the last four on the back of a better run rate.

England then avenged their group-stage defeat to Australia in a one-sided semi-final contest to enter the final for the 4th time, while the Black caps defeated India in a two-day long rain-interrupted semi-final clash.

England and New Zealand have faced each other 90 times thus far in an ODI format, from which the Kiwis have won on 43 occasions while England have tasted victory 41 times. 2 matches were tied between the two while 4 other games ended in no result.

Talking about just the World Cups, the two rivals have encountered each other 9 times in the showpiece event. The recent clash between them was in the league fixture of the world cup 2019 in Leeds, where England crushed New Zealand by 119 runs to get themselves a semi-finals berth.

Never ever had an England limited overs team fired the imagination of cricket loving public in general with their aggressive brand of cricket like the current one, the turnaround that started after their exit at the group league stage of the 2015 ICC World Cup.

England playing 11: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (c), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wk), Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jofra Archer, Mark Wood

New Zealand playing 11: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro/Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wk), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson

Time: 3:00 pm IST


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here