Election 2019: Maharashtra and Haryana voting on October 21, results on October 24


Mumbai: The Election Commission of India on Saturday announced the dates and the full schedule for the Assembly polls.

The Assembly election in Maharashtra and Haryana will be held on October 21. The counting will take place on October 24. The Assembly election in Maharashtra and Haryana will be held in a single phase.

While the tenure of the 90-member Haryana Legislative Assembly expires on November 2, the term for the 288-member Maharashtra Legislative Assembly ends on November 8. After the announcement of Assembly election dates, the Model Code of Conduct will now come into force, following which the current state governments will not be able to roll out last minute schemes.

Assembly election dates for Maharashtra and Haryana announced:
Issue of notification: September 27

Last date of nomination: October 4

Scrutiny: October 5

Nominations’ withdrawal: October 7

Date of poll: October 21

Counting: October 24

While the term of 288-member Maharashtra assembly ends on November 9, that of the 90-member Haryana expires on November 2.

The Model Code of Conduct will come into effect after the announcement of dates.

Assembly Constituencies
The total number of Assembly Constituencies in the States of Haryana and Maharashtra and seats reserved for the Scheduled Castes and the Scheduled Tribes, as determined by the Delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies Order, 2008, are as under: –

State Total No. of Assembly Constituencies Reserved for Scheduled Castes Reserved for Schedule Tribes
Haryana 90 17 –
Maharashtra 288 29 25
Identification of Voters at Polling Stations –

For identification of voters at Polling Station, the Voter shall present his EPIC or any of the following identification documents approved by the Commission along with the Photo Voter Slips:

Driving License
Service Identity Cards with photograph issued to employees by
Passbooks with photograph issued by Bank/Post Office.
PAN Card
Smart Card issued by RGI under NPR
Health Insurance Smart Card issued under the scheme of
Ministry of Labour
Pension document with photograph
Official identity cards issued to MPs/MLAs/MLCs and
Aadhar Card
State Number of General electors No. of Service Voters Total No. of electors as per final electoral rolls
Haryana 1,81,91,228 1,07,486 1,82,98,714
Maharashtra 8,94,46,211 1,16,495 8,95,62,706

Addressing the media, Chief Election Commissioner, Sunil Arora said Haryana has 1.82 crore registered voters and Maharashtra has 8.94 crore voters.

He said that special security arrangements will be made for LWE affected areas in Gadchiroli and Gondia in Maharashtra.

“Election campaigns impose an environmental cost upon us. We appeal to political parties to avoid use of plastic and use only environment-friendly material in their campaigns,” he added.

Here are the highlights from the Election Commission press conference.
Haryana has 1.82 crore registered voters and Maharashtra has 8.94 crore voters, he said.

The five-year term of the Legislative Assemblies of Haryana and Maharashtra expires on November 2 and November 9, respectively.

Two special expenditure observers will be sent to Maharastra for assembly elections.

Don’t use plastics during poll campaign

By-elections to 64 constituencies across Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Assam, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, MP, Meghalaya, Odisha, Puducherry, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh, to be held on Oct 21 ;counting on Oct 24.

The BJP won Maharashtra with 122 seats in the 288-member assembly, ousting the Congress government.

The ruling party won a majority for the first time in the 90-member Haryana assembly, forcing the Congress out of power after two straight terms. The Congress is apparently yet to recover in the state.

In 2014, the elections in Maharashtra and Haryana took place in October.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here